Want to know if you can text someone you blocked on your iPhone?
This article will cover how much communication you have with a blocked number.
It’s possible to text someone you blocked on your iPhone. The recipient will receive your text messages, but you will not receive their message when they try to respond even though it shows “delivered” on their phone. However, if they block you, they will not receive your texts, either.
Understanding the ins and outs of iPhone texting can be confusing because it requires details from your iPhone, mobile service provider, and the application you use. Let’s explore all of those factors.
Can You Text Someone You Blocked On iPhone?
While we might be obligated to get along with colleagues at work, relationships with friends and family usually involve more emotion and challenges! It might reach a point where we have to block someone on our iPhone, and that will place certain texting limitations.
If you block someone on your iPhone, they can still receive your text messages. However, if they send you a message, you will not receive their response.
Your calls and FaceTime will also go through to the blocked number, but you cannot receive calls or FaceTime from the blocked number. If you want to see if the blocked number left a voicemail, you can check under blocked voicemails. You can access your blocked voicemails by tapping voicemails in the bottom-right of your contact list and selecting blocked messages.
So, because blocking only works in one direction, you can still text someone you’ve blocked unless they’ve also blocked you.
Can A Contact Know That You Blocked Them?
When a blocked number sends you a message, their message will appear as sent on their device, but you will not receive the message. At the same time, the blocked number will not get a notification to tell them that you blocked them. In other words, they will not know you blocked them unless you tell them face-to-face or someone else tells them.
That said, there are some indirect methods your contact can use to know you blocked them, like using their texting app. By viewing the last messages they sent you, they would see that their messages have a delivered status. It will confirm that the communication between you and the recipient was healthy.
When they compare that to the most recent messages they sent you, their status will show as undelivered, indirectly revealing that you blocked them.
Another method a blocked contact can know that you blocked them is if they try to give you a call. If, when they call you, their call goes immediately to voicemail, or they receive an out-of-service error message or a message stating that the person is not taking calls, it’s telling that you blocked them.
Why Can Someone Still Text You Even After You Block Them?
Remember that an iPhone can block phone numbers and email addresses, but it can’t block people. Unfortunately, this loophole means that the person you blocked can still send you messages and try to call you using a different device.
How Do You Block Or Unblock Someone On iPhone?
Blocking a number is sometimes necessary when we don’t want to receive calls from certain people or we’d like to send spam callers straight to voicemail.
It’s quick and easy, and here’s how you do it:
- Navigate to the Phone app on your iPhone.
- Select Favorites, Recents, or Voicemail.
- Tap the “i” beside the number you want to block.
- Scroll down and select Block this caller.
Straightforward and no hassles! If you want to manage your blocked list of contacts, go to Settings on your iPhone and select Blocked Contacts. Then, tap Edit.
If, for whatever reason, you want to unblock a number, follow the same steps as above, and instead of seeing Block this caller, you will see Unblock this caller.
Why Do Texts Say “Delivered” When You’re Blocked?
The SMS systems and protocols are elementary and straightforward and don’t contain any level of complexity. As a result, no provision was ever necessary for blocked status or others like in transit, pending, etc.
In truth, the message was sent, and it was received, but since the user opted to block the number, the phone rejected the message.
Where Do Texts Go When A Number Gets Blocked?
When you receive text messages on your iPhone, it is the responsibility of your iPhone to inform you about any new texts or calls, not your mobile service provider.
For this reason, blocking a number happens through your iPhone, meaning that your phone will receive the text messages first. After your phone receives it, it gets cross-checked with all the blocked numbers on your phone’s block list, at which point the iPhone hides, removes, or rejects those messages entirely.
As a result, when you go to your Message app and visit your blocked numbers, you can see a collection of all the blocked numbers that previously sent you text messages. Furthermore, your phone will automatically reject any calls you receive from blocked numbers, send them straight to voicemail, and list them under blocked voicemails.
Can Someone Text You On Third-Party Apps If You Block Them?
When you receive a message on your phone, your phone will check if the number that sent it is on the block list. If it is, your phone will either send the message to blocked messages or reject it altogether.
When you block someone in this way, it does not include the applications on your iPhone. In other words, if you registered your number on iMessage, Watsapp, WeChat, Facebook Messenger, Skype, Discord, etc., the blocked number can still send you messages on those platforms.
The only way to prevent blocked numbers from sending you messages on other communication apps and social media platforms is to block them on those platforms too.
How Do You Block Someone On Other Platforms?
Let’s cover the steps necessary to block someone on common communication platforms.
To block someone on Facebook Messenger:
- Open your Facebook Messenger app
- Open the conversation of the person you want to block.
- Tap the picture that represents their profile picture.
- Scroll down and look for the Block feature.
- Tap block (This will allow you to block the contact on Messenger or Facebook). If you are in a group with this contact, you will see messages from them unless you leave the group.
You can unblock someone in the same way, but you will not receive any of the messages they sent you when you blocked them.
To block someone on Watsapp:
- Open WhatsApp
- Tap on the person which you want to block.
- Once the conversation is open, tap their name or profile picture to access the settings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the profile page until you see Block Contact.
- Tap Block Contact, and confirm your decision.
You can text a number you blocked, and they will receive your messages. However, you won’t receive any of their messages. Remember that blocked numbers can still contact you through other platforms and group chats.